Hello all. And by all I mean the few of you who read this blog haha.
The past couple days have been incredibly chill and beautiful. We went to place a called Los Lagos De Montebello on Wednesday, which is basically like a national park of Mexico that has i think 49 state owned lagoons. Some of which are a beautiful blue. And we lucked out because apparently there is a gate where you pay 27 pesos per person (which isn't much) but no one was there and we asked people nearby and they said just to go. I think it was too early for the security guard to show up, and it's the off season for visiting. But regardless it was pretty. We walked around saw some of the lakes, and then got a tour guide. Poor Chema... haha. He was our translator for the trip and we asked to him to ask some of the local people (cause people live in the park like a mini village, which is weird I know), but we didn't realize all the people were surrounding a bottle of alcohol and were drinking. Thankfully we found a guide who was sober and actually incredibly nice. We went to a couple a grottoes, and one we actually went all the way through to the other side. If you've seen Prometheus it was literally like that cave where they found the jars... so creepy. If you haven't, don't it was a terrible movie. Haha. But ya we came out of the cave and we thought we had crossed the border on an underground tunnel into Guatemala. Not really, but we joked cause it felt like it. We also were wearing flip flops cause we thought we were just going to go for a boat ride, which made things harder, but still fun.
The following two days we journeyed into the nearby city of Comitan and explored. We went to Centro, which has this nice park area with surrounding shops and wandered around. I think restaurants there love foreigners becuase they kept on fighting for our attention lol. And I found this are where they make uniforms and saw lots and lots of barcelona and man u jerseys haha. i almost bought one, but couldn't think of which one i would buy. i also got to see this huge market place, and like huge. imagine a couple costco's put together and that's how big it was. and it was all like clothes/meat/veggies/fruit/movies/ everything vendors. and then i saw this beautifully ornamented graveyard. i have pics of most things which should be on fbook soon.
But moving on:
Today was one of the most touching moments of my life. Like ever. It was right before the kids went to bed and most of the team went to say good bye. And so many of them were crying. And saying don't go (in spanish, but even i could guess what they were saying). Lots of hugs and tears from students that you would never expect it from. One of the guys broke out in tears and Judith burst out laughing haha. It was so funny and cute at the same.
I know this isn't a lot of a lot of sentences, but trust me my heart like broke. One of my kids who is tomboy broke into tears, Ana-Karen, and the student I got closest to Harrison, was crying as well. And that was gg. until then i was perfectly fine, but they were the finishing blow. i started tearing up and all i could think of was, regain control don't start crying in front of all the students.
Surprisingly I got really attached to these kids. I'm going to miss them a lot. And I'm honestly hoping/praying that I can get a job before next summer, and hopefully come back here. These students deal a lot with missionaries that come and go, and I know coming back would mean a lot to them, but also to me.
But yes, I highlight the last couple paragraphs. Literally the saddest and most beatiful moment of my life. Perhaps when we leave at 3:30 am and see students who wake up for us then, it will be more beauitful, but I might just be grumpy hahahhaha. To all those who are thinking about coming here to Ichthus... please do. I will convince you if you give me a chance :P.
Sunday, July 8, 2012
Monday, July 2, 2012
Last Monday in Mexico
This past Friday, on June 29, 2012, our team officially finished teaching. This weekend was so chill, that it was weird for me. I couldn't believe I had so much free time. I literally had no idea what to do some times.
Today we went to the ranch and it was actually a lot
of fun. I got to drive a car in Mexico for the first time there and back.
While we were there, we got to eat fresh tilapia from the fish farm for
lunch. I grilled them using a korean style thing that closes, I don't
know if you understand, but regardless it was good. we also got to ride
the horses there for a little bit, which was fun. I got pulled over by
the police here, which is a lot scarier than America cause here they carry
rifles, but it was just because it's a routine checkup spot, and since Asians
were driving they were curious. Once we told them we were from the
Ichthus, the school, the let us go without a problem. The funny thing is that when we told him we were Korean, he started asking questions about North and South Korea, which was weird and funny.
Horseback riding was so much fun that I took some videos. Mainly because my horse was so much slower than the other ones and it kept on stopping to drink water and eat grass, but still worth it over all. I tried to update my videos but the internet is too slow here to upload so sorry.
Please pray that we will continue to reach out to the students while we see them in the evening, and that we continue to seek after God even now when we have more free time. Good luck to everyone and God bless.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)