Sunday, November 3, 2013

Soccer

Don't be alone with your thoughts. Be with God there.
IK

A good quote haha. My friend told me a couple days ago to write a happy blog. Are there good things going on? Of course. Lots of little blessings. I just couldn't. So this is my apology.

I just hope I'm growing.

Today is another reminder that I need to chill on sports. There was a guy that wouldn't stop talking smack. Made a racial comment. Kept fouling my friends and teammates during the game. And... he wasn't that good. My highlight of the game? Well for me personally, it was stopping him from shooting and knocking him down. Perfectly clean, mind you. He kicked the ball and I blocked, and then fell over due to loss of balance. I did not even make contact with him for him to complain it was a foul. I shouldn't even really be playing soccer with undergrads... I graduated. What am I doing? Ugh. But... on the bright side I'm getting to know a lot of first year guys. I should just coach or something... maybe next game I'll stay out a lot unless they need me.

But why was I satisfied with him down? Cause I'm petty. I'm prideful. And I hate stuck-up people like that.  But ultimately cause I couldn't control my anger. But who am I to judge that guy's actions? I can't. And it took a little bit, but I felt remorse for my foolishness. So unreasonable. So wrong. So dumb. So sinful.

So sinful...

On a brighter note, I developed a bunch of rolls of film and was satisfied with several pics. And I got my cast iron back and cooked with it. Love. I've decided to re-knew a desire for cooking and actually improve. I've also rekindled a desire for photography that started to abate. I guess that's a happy bit. Cooking, and photos. And reading. Reading is good too.

Another good note, I think I might have decided on a church. Most likely Trinity. Why? Why not the CC or CCC or City? I don't have a good reason. I don't have a personal reason. One thing that stands out about Trinity though is I went there for my Japanese class. Say what? Went to a church for a class whose country is arguably one of the most secular currently? Ya. To talk to Japanese wives who's husbands are in town lol, aka to practice. But that means there are at least some Japanese people there. Big bonus for me. And old school. who doesn't like old school in the sea of striving to be modern (or adapting, whatever you want to call it. I'm not against it completely mind you. I just appreciate oldness a little more now because of it.).

And, I did get better at soccer compared to before :)

God, teach me. God, keep me humble. God, help me act as you would have me act.

No comments:

Post a Comment