Monday, February 25, 2013

Sports

I think this past semester, I've grown to like watching sports more and appreciate them more.  Am I a junkie like all those other guys who memorize stats and people... no lol.  Will I ever?  Doubt it, I only really know what lebron james looks like because of someone's boyfriend from FL. lol.

But I've watched most of the IM basketball games this time, and it's been fun to cheer them on.  To see them win, and lose.  I dunno just to support them.  Soccer has been more fun this year because I've focused less on how much I suck, but more on just having fun and encouraging others.  And I think... I'm using sports the way they are intended as out reach.  It's been an opportunity for me to talk to people I wouldn't normally talk, and to support people who I don't know well, but am getting to know better.  It shows you care.

Does GCF have an unhealthy obsession with sports?  Ya in some ways, but no more than individuals have unhealthy obsessions with other things.  But I think a lot of people have matured in knowing their limits, which is good.

But today I was reminded of the ugliness of sports.

During playoffs today in soccer, it was ugly.  People got mad, the other time shared some expletives under their breath, our cheering squad was not edifying, etc.  After the game, I apologized to the other team, and they were mad... we failed big time as GCF.  I failed big time.  I called some people out on our team, shared some things/thoughts about how we did not show Christ even though that's our goal as a Christian and if this continues then we can't even bother to claim ourselves as a GCF team.  In the sense of why affiliate with GCF and in turn Christ if we let our emotions get in swing.  It made me sad, to realize how something as beautiful as a sport can clearly become so ugly.  It made me angry because I felt like people should have been more sensitive about it, but ultimately I was frustrated.  I failed God, again.  But God redeems, and I believe this was a powerful reminder of how games are meant to be fun and healthy and a way of interacting.  When it becomes something that we have to win, if we can't turn the other cheek, then it becomes something permissible but not healthy as Paul would say.  I believe this is only going to change though with prayer, which is what I intend to do.  Along with words of encouragement haha.

If you have been praying for me/uttered a pray for me, I thank you.  If you haven't, no worries lol.  I still struggle everyday to wake up, to find joy, to serve, but slowly God is working.  Or I'm delusional, and my mind is repressing things even though I don't want it to... lol.

I saw my family yesterday cause our home church went to Wintergreen (I always say our hesitantly because it's a church I don't really attend unless I'm at home because they started attending it when I came to college, so it's weird... do you know that feeling?)  But it was a powerful reminder.  My family... is there for me.  That's something that's been constantly reaffirmed in me.  They are there for me in ways friends will never be there for me.  My family is there for me in ways that I hope I can be there for my family (if I have one) or just for others.  And God is there for me in a way bigger than that.  Crazy.  I'm finally beginning to grasp an element of prayer.  As I drove back to C'ville crying in prayer... I was reminded I need God more than anything.  Was gonna post this funny picture from when CL visited, but I can't find my point and shoot right now, so another time.

Mr. I and I tried to rap for over an hour hahaha.  Relaxing but fun.  Gowe, is super legit.

No comments:

Post a Comment