Friday, January 11, 2013

Money

I started the past couple hours with the intention of blazing through a book, like I've been blazing through some other stuff I've been reading.

Gottemz.

Haha... So I was supposed to finish Radical by David Platt for SLC, and I confess I only read the first few chapters, and stopped.  Well this was the book I decided to blaze through, and got owned.  One chapter in, and my head is a swirl with things.

1) It's good because it's along with a decision I recently made with other people from Urbana.  I'm not going to buy clothes for myself this year at all period.  If you know me... you that it's going to be hard.  But after living in a suitcase for a summer, after living for part of this winter break without the whole wardrobe, it's necessary to calm myself down.  I like dressing well, there I said it.  lol.  Do I always, of course not, but I do enjoy it.  Is it worth it?  Nope... Granted I do believe I've gotten much better about spending money that past couple years (some may disagree for good reason) it's time to bring it even more under control.

2) Wesley (regardless if you agree with his theology completely) lived on a lower income that what he made. According to Platt he literally gave away the excess...  Interesting.  Very very interesting.  Honestly, I would like to be able to do that.  Of course where do you draw the line, what is necessary, how much money would you save, etc. are incredibly important and would have to be answered.  But that lifestyle.... radical or biblical (a question Platt loves to pose, and I like it a lot.)  But that being said, powerful message there.  If I had x income, I live to that income level well hopefully not exactly but relatively close.  But if I were to live at a lower level and give the money away and work for the good of God's kingdom... wow....

3) This ties into #2 but savings... good and evil?  My room at Urbana discussed this, but retirement plans good or bad?  There are good things about it, and bad things.  Many people who read this will probably disagree, and I don't blame them.  Nothing set in stone in the Bible about this, but isn't a retirement fund for your own enjoyment after you finish working?  Purely selfish?  Of course the money can be used for good, no denying it, and maybe being a good steward ties into it.  But I dunno... that's a lot of money in investments that could be used for something.  When God says don't worry, doesn't that mean we don't need to worry for something that's going to happen roughly 50 years from now?  Or is it being a good steward?  And if you have kids then they can support you... hahaha.  Sounds terrible cause how would they support you if they are in ministry too o.O the hypotheticals are endless.

I dunno, I'm going to talk to the good old Pastor IJ about it, this and many other things.  I'm stupid for not talking to him more.  And if you are reading this and you haven't taken the time to get to know him... don't make the same mistake as me.  I do know where he stands on money (sorta) but want to learn more, and I guess I'll decide on my own prayerfully.  Prayerfully is key here... something I need to do more of.

Butttt all of this being said requires I have a job haha.  Something I'm still looking for.  But then... I don't plan on working forever, I want to go into ministry, and then what happens o.O.  Money... so interesting you are. Cause if I know I want to stop working, ideally i want to save as much as possible... ugh.  But then what if i decide to work longer than I thought i would... crazy.  I guess one positive singlehood for life, so much cheaper... and the many benefits Piper talks about in sermons.  I wonder if I could be single for life? Many people say no, but who knows...  Ideally not, cause I would feel so lonely... haha but who knows.

And yes I know all of this equals no security on my part.  Lots of stupidity in many ways... but wouldn't that also make my faith all the more real?  For Jesus, isn't it worth it?

My attempt to be honest/somewhat deep/somewhat light hearted.  Which equals ... and haha.  Maybe I'll get better at writing after all this blogging.  That would be nice.

No comments:

Post a Comment